Trick Yourself

This is a short talk given by journalist AJ Jacobs. He talks about the important role that Self-Delusion plays in the creative process.

I’ve got to say I agree with Jacobs. Having nearly-blinding confidence in oneself can be a recipe for disaster, but it also allows us to begin daunting projects, wholeheartedly pour ourselves into our work, and persevere when adversity strikes. In high school my friend and I used to say ‘Trick Yourself’ to each other whenever we couldn’t bring ourselves to do homework or a menial task. By pretending like we enjoyed what we were doing, we actually did start to enjoy it, just like Jacobs says. A lot of my other friends called bs on us, but the times that I succeeded in mostly deluding myself, I was able to write a paper or clean my room faster and more enjoyably than ever before. And according to Jacobs, tricking yourself or “faking it ’til you make it” is a legitimate strategy for making substantive change.

Check it out if you’ve got 20 minutes.

Importance of Self-Delusion

Leave a Reply

